PxPlus User Forum

Twitter Twitter Twitter

Author Topic: QR codes  (Read 5012 times)

HendersonS

  • Gold Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
QR codes
« on: October 22, 2018, 10:36:22 PM »
We are trying to generate QR codes, does anyone know how to do it with pxplus? We would appreciate it if you shared it with us.

Allen Miglore

  • Silver Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
    • UnForm
Re: QR codes
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2018, 09:16:11 AM »
We use Tec-It's tbarcode/x software for all barcodes including QR. It's a commercial tool, with both Windows and Linux (and AIX) support, and it has licenses that fit our needs for redistribution.  There may well be free or open source tools, or platform-specific tools, that are less expensive.  I would search for alternatives online depending on your needs.  Here is the tec-it.com page about their offerings:

https://www.tec-it.com/en/software/barcode-software/Default.aspx

Devon Austen

  • Administrator
  • Diamond Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 383
  • Don’t Panic
    • View Profile
    • PVX Plus Technologies
Re: QR codes
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2018, 09:23:36 AM »
If you are using PxPlus 2014 or higher you can use "*tools/makeqrcode"

Code: [Select]
CALL "*tools/makeqrcode","https://home.pvxplus.com","output.png"
Principal Software Engineer for PVX Plus Technologies LTD.

Allen Miglore

  • Silver Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
    • UnForm
Re: QR codes
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2018, 09:45:50 AM »
Devon, is that utility documented?  I don't see it in the pxplus manual.

Devon Austen

  • Administrator
  • Diamond Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 383
  • Don’t Panic
    • View Profile
    • PVX Plus Technologies
Re: QR codes
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2018, 10:46:44 AM »
It was discussed at DireXions 2014 but it appears we missed adding it to the documentation. This will be fixed.
Principal Software Engineer for PVX Plus Technologies LTD.

HendersonS

  • Gold Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: QR codes
« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2018, 11:04:10 AM »
Devon, I'm using pxplus 2016 13.1 and it shows me an error, is there any documentation about this?

->CALL "*tools/makeqrcode","https://home.pvxplus.com","output.png"
Error #46: Length of string invalid

Devon Austen

  • Administrator
  • Diamond Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 383
  • Don’t Panic
    • View Profile
    • PVX Plus Technologies
Re: QR codes
« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2018, 11:08:52 AM »
That command work for me.

This utility makes a web request to our server to build the QR code. This means the tool has the following requirement:

-Requires internet access as logic done on our servers
-Serial number must on maintenance/current version
Principal Software Engineer for PVX Plus Technologies LTD.

harryv

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: QR codes
« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2018, 11:34:38 AM »
Devon,

 I get the same error on line 70 - Pxplus 2018.
Regards,

Harry Valters

HendersonS

  • Gold Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: QR codes
« Reply #8 on: October 23, 2018, 12:11:03 PM »
Well,i don't know, I have internet connection and my current version is activated online,
I tried it with pxplus 2018 and it does not work either !

Devon Austen

  • Administrator
  • Diamond Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 383
  • Don’t Panic
    • View Profile
    • PVX Plus Technologies
Re: QR codes
« Reply #9 on: October 23, 2018, 01:42:02 PM »
There was a change to how we hosted the web service that required an update to the program. We missed updating the program when we did the build. You can download the updated program here: http://www.pvxplus.com/downloads/misc/makeqrcode

We will make sure to update the program for the next build as well as document it.
Principal Software Engineer for PVX Plus Technologies LTD.

HendersonS

  • Gold Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: QR codes
« Reply #10 on: October 23, 2018, 02:45:15 PM »
Now is working great, Thanks!

Bruno Biancucci

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • BrunoBiancucci.com
Re: QR codes
« Reply #11 on: March 31, 2022, 01:18:01 PM »
This is more of an FYI for some information I came across while researching QR Code generation. 

Someone I know used the Google tool do the generation.

https://developers.google.com/chart/infographics/docs/qr_codes?hl=en

Obvious, but an internet connection would be required too.
"Do or do not. There is no try." - Yoda

Mike King

  • Diamond Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3818
  • Mike King
    • View Profile
    • BBSysco Consulting
Re: QR codes
« Reply #12 on: March 31, 2022, 02:31:08 PM »
Actually if you are on a Linux box you can simply use the program qrencode which is native/free on all Linux systems.

https://linux.die.net/man/1/qrencode

There is also a Windows version which you can find on the Internet.

Mike King
President - BBSysco Consulting
eMail: mike.king@bbsysco.com

Bruno Biancucci

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • BrunoBiancucci.com
Re: QR codes
« Reply #13 on: March 31, 2022, 02:37:03 PM »
Thanks Mike! 

I read about the Linux tool, but didn't know there may be a Windows version.  Very cool.
"Do or do not. There is no try." - Yoda

Mike King

  • Diamond Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3818
  • Mike King
    • View Profile
    • BBSysco Consulting
Re: QR codes
« Reply #14 on: March 31, 2022, 02:45:39 PM »
Yes, there appears to be a windows version...

Before using it I would suggest you download it and scan for Viruses -- something I always suggest for programs coming from 3rd parties.

Its also the reason I rarely refer people directly to sites with 3rd party software; I avoid referring people to something that could be hacked.
Mike King
President - BBSysco Consulting
eMail: mike.king@bbsysco.com