PxPlus User Forum

Twitter Twitter Twitter

Author Topic: Switching an existing extended ASCII based system to UTF8  (Read 1068 times)

Arno de Greef

• View Profile
Switching an existing extended ASCII based system to UTF8
« on: January 14, 2024, 09:51:37 AM »
Hello,

I'm new at UTF8 encoding.

My company uses an existing extended ASCII based system written in PxPlus. For the most part the system is still character based. The system is running on Linux and users logon using a terminal emulator. A smaler part of the system are Nomads panels running through WinDx. Our system does not have the 'U8' parameter set.

Up until now in the character based screens users have only been able to use the characters in the extended ASCII set. In the WinDx screens users can enter UTF8 characters, but all progams handle data as extended ASCII only. On a few occasions this results in unwanted results, but we have come to accept that. Now our users would like to be able to use a few more characters in a limited number of Nomads screens. We are not planning on UTF8 encoded data being used in character based screens. All in all I'm reading up on my UTF8.

On the internet I found articles explaining the US ASCII characters (ASCII 000 through to 127) remain the same in UTF8 however the extended ASCII characters and all other are encoded differently. From the PxPlus manual I understand when using UTF8 the 'U8' parameter should be set system wide. Switching the parameter on and off where needed will probably have unwanted results. This makes me wonder what the impact of switching this parameter on system wide will have on existing programs and data.

For a test I set the 'U8' paramater to include returning an error in case of incorrect UTF8 data (value 2). After that test I ran the *UPB utility (string search and replace), resulting in quite a few errors. Something similar happened when interpreting the value of a FID function.

As another test I ran this bit of code :
a$=$C38AC38A$