PxPlus User Forum

Twitter Twitter Twitter

Author Topic: Using INVOKE with Windx on remote RDP users  (Read 2164 times)

MikeinFL

• Silver Member
    • View Profile
Using INVOKE with Windx on remote RDP users
« on: January 20, 2022, 11:12:38 AM »
I'm new to setting up windx on remote RDP and need help.  I'm testing demo PXPlus Base on a 'cloud' Windows Server 2019 with our users logging in via remote RDP.  I also installed Windx on the Windows Server 2019 to use with *nthost.

Each user has their own presented RDP desktop.  On the first user's RDP desktop I created a Windx shortcut to run our start up program and it runs ok.  The INVOKE in *nthost brings up a windx screen on this user's rdp desktop like I want, and runs our code ok.  Except when our program executes INVOKE to open a freeware notepad- the notepad appears on the server desktop, not the user's RDP desktop where I want it to appear.

Usually I'm setting up nthost or cs on local PC's on a LAN.  What am I doing wrong or need to change with the RDP desktops?  The way our code works is that it will open the freeware notepad by pc name location, so that notepad, installed on each LAN PC, appears on the windx PC that invoked it.  Our code:

IF NID=%LPC_COMPUTERNAME$ THEN INVOKE QUO+LSERVER$+QUO+" "+QUO+F$+QUO
IF NID<>%LPC_COMPUTERNAME$ THEN INVOKE "[WDX]"+quo+LCLIENT$+QUO+" "+quo+F$(6)+QUO

This is not working for rdp desktop.  I can also just use notepad.exe and not the freeware.  How to have the code recognize the rdp user and invoke on that user's desktop?  Thanks.

Mike Flemmer
BASIC PC SOLUTIONS

Stéphane Devouard

• Diamond Member
  • PxPlus guru with skills in PHP, JS, C#, Java
    • View Profile
    • Stéphane's Web Resume
Re: Using INVOKE with Windx on remote RDP users
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2022, 11:54:04 AM »
Mike

Many moons ago, I was using env("clientname") to identify workstations in Citrix/TSE environments
You may want to try it and see if that works for you

Regards
Stéphane Devouard