Toggle navigation
PxPlus User Forum
PxPlus User Forum
»
Main Board
»
Discussions
»
Programming
»
QR codes
Likes
« previous
next »
Print
Pages: [
1
]
Author
Topic: QR codes (Read 3572 times)
HendersonS
Gold Member
Posts: 54
QR codes
«
on:
October 22, 2018, 10:36:22 PM »
We are trying to generate QR codes, does anyone know how to do it with pxplus? We would appreciate it if you shared it with us.
Logged
Allen Miglore
Silver Member
Posts: 36
Re: QR codes
«
Reply #1 on:
October 23, 2018, 09:16:11 AM »
We use Tec-It's tbarcode/x software for all barcodes including QR. It's a commercial tool, with both Windows and Linux (and AIX) support, and it has licenses that fit our needs for redistribution. There may well be free or open source tools, or platform-specific tools, that are less expensive. I would search for alternatives online depending on your needs. Here is the tec-it.com page about their offerings:
https://www.tec-it.com/en/software/barcode-software/Default.aspx
Logged
Devon Austen
Administrator
Diamond Member
Posts: 362
Don’t Panic
Re: QR codes
«
Reply #2 on:
October 23, 2018, 09:23:36 AM »
If you are using PxPlus 2014 or higher you can use "*tools/makeqrcode"
Code:
[Select]
CALL "*tools/makeqrcode","https://home.pvxplus.com","output.png"
Logged
Software Developer for PVX Plus Technologies LTD.
Allen Miglore
Silver Member
Posts: 36
Re: QR codes
«
Reply #3 on:
October 23, 2018, 09:45:50 AM »
Devon, is that utility documented? I don't see it in the pxplus manual.
Logged
Devon Austen
Administrator
Diamond Member
Posts: 362
Don’t Panic
Re: QR codes
«
Reply #4 on:
October 23, 2018, 10:46:44 AM »
It was discussed at DireXions 2014 but it appears we missed adding it to the documentation. This will be fixed.
Logged
Software Developer for PVX Plus Technologies LTD.
HendersonS
Gold Member
Posts: 54
Re: QR codes
«
Reply #5 on:
October 23, 2018, 11:04:10 AM »
Devon, I'm using pxplus 2016 13.1 and it shows me an error, is there any documentation about this?
->CALL "*tools/makeqrcode","
https://home.pvxplus.com
","output.png"
Error #46: Length of string invalid
Logged
Devon Austen
Administrator
Diamond Member
Posts: 362
Don’t Panic
Re: QR codes
«
Reply #6 on:
October 23, 2018, 11:08:52 AM »
That command work for me.
This utility makes a web request to our server to build the QR code. This means the tool has the following requirement:
-Requires internet access as logic done on our servers
-Serial number must on maintenance/current version
Logged
Software Developer for PVX Plus Technologies LTD.
harryv
Member
Posts: 10
Re: QR codes
«
Reply #7 on:
October 23, 2018, 11:34:38 AM »
Devon,
I get the same error on line 70 - Pxplus 2018.
Logged
Regards,
Harry Valters
HendersonS
Gold Member
Posts: 54
Re: QR codes
«
Reply #8 on:
October 23, 2018, 12:11:03 PM »
Well,i don't know, I have internet connection and my current version is activated online,
I tried it with pxplus 2018 and it does not work either !
Logged
Devon Austen
Administrator
Diamond Member
Posts: 362
Don’t Panic
Re: QR codes
«
Reply #9 on:
October 23, 2018, 01:42:02 PM »
There was a change to how we hosted the web service that required an update to the program. We missed updating the program when we did the build. You can download the updated program here:
http://www.pvxplus.com/downloads/misc/makeqrcode
We will make sure to update the program for the next build as well as document it.
Logged
Software Developer for PVX Plus Technologies LTD.
HendersonS
Gold Member
Posts: 54
Re: QR codes
«
Reply #10 on:
October 23, 2018, 02:45:15 PM »
Now is working great, Thanks!
Logged
Bruno Biancucci
Member
Posts: 9
Re: QR codes
«
Reply #11 on:
March 31, 2022, 01:18:01 PM »
This is more of an FYI for some information I came across while researching QR Code generation.
Someone I know used the Google tool do the generation.
https://developers.google.com/chart/infographics/docs/qr_codes?hl=en
Obvious, but an internet connection would be required too.
Logged
"Do or do not. There is no try." - Yoda
Mike King
Administrator
Diamond Member
Posts: 3770
Mike King
Re: QR codes
«
Reply #12 on:
March 31, 2022, 02:31:08 PM »
Actually if you are on a Linux box you can simply use the program qrencode which is native/free on all Linux systems.
https://linux.die.net/man/1/qrencode
There is also a Windows version which you can find on the Internet.
Logged
Bruno Biancucci
Member
Posts: 9
Re: QR codes
«
Reply #13 on:
March 31, 2022, 02:37:03 PM »
Thanks Mike!
I read about the Linux tool, but didn't know there may be a Windows version. Very cool.
Logged
"Do or do not. There is no try." - Yoda
Mike King
Administrator
Diamond Member
Posts: 3770
Mike King
Re: QR codes
«
Reply #14 on:
March 31, 2022, 02:45:39 PM »
Yes, there appears to be a windows version...
Before using it I would suggest you download it and scan for Viruses -- something I always suggest for programs coming from 3rd parties.
Its also the reason I rarely refer people directly to sites with 3rd party software; I avoid referring people to something that could be hacked.
Logged
Print
Pages: [
1
]
« previous
next »
PxPlus User Forum
»
Main Board
»
Discussions
»
Programming
»
QR codes